Skip to main content

Special Collections & Archives

Presidential Profiles

"The nation today is at a crossroads. Global competitiveness, environmental stability, geopolitical instability, these issues weigh heavily on our minds. I believe institutions like Wright State must take a leadership role in addressing these challenges. We must provide an opportunity for young people to excel in fields that improve the human condition." - President Cheryl B. Schrader

Strong leadership forges strong communities. Since its founding, Wright State University has been fortunate to have leaders dedicated to the central themes of its mission: learning, giving, cooperation, community, creativity, and research. The individuals selected to guide the university have continued to grow the university into a culture of innovation.

Explore the leadership of Wright State University by learning more about the individuals who have served as President.

President Cheryl B. Schrader

Cheryl B. Schrader, 2017-

Wright State's seventh and current president, Cheryl B. Schrader, assumed the office on July 1, 2017.

President David R. Hopkins

David R. Hopkins, 2007-2017

David R. Hopkins was Wright State's sixth president and assumed the office on February 1, 2007.

President Kim Goldenberg

Kim Goldenberg, M.D., 1998-2007

Dr. Goldenberg became president following the death of President Harley E. Flack in 1998.

President Harley E. Flack

Harley E. Flack, 1994-1998

The inauguration of Harley E. Flack as WSU's fourth president took place on October 7, 1994.

President Paige E. Mulhollan

Paige E. Mulhollan, 1985-1994

Paige E. Mulhollan was named WSU's third president in 1985.

President Robert J. Kegerreis

Robert J. Kegerreis, 1973-1985

Robert Kegerreis became Wright State University's second president in 1973.

Interim President Frederick White

Frederick White (Interim), 1972-1973

Frederick White, the university's first employee and long-time business manager, served as Interim President of WSU between 1972 and 1973.

President Brage Golding

Brage Golding, 1966-1972

Brage Golding, known as an innovator with an entrepreneruial spirit, was named Wright State University's first president in 1966.