University Libraries Logo

Presidential Profiles

"In the pioneering spirit of the Wright brothers, Wright State will be Ohio's most innovative university, known and admired for our diversity and for the transformative impact we have on the lives of our students and on the communities we serve." - President David R. Hopkins

Strong leadership forges strong communities. Since its founding, Wright State University has been fortunate to have leaders dedicated to the central themes of its mission: learning, giving, cooperation, community, creativity, and research. The individuals selected to guide the university have continued to grow the university into a culture of innovation.

Explore the leadership of Wright State University by learning more about the individuals who have served as President.

Brage Golding, President 1966-1973

Brage Golding, known as an innovator with an entrepreneruial spirit, was named Wright State University's first president in 1966. During his six-year tenure as president, the university expanded to include an impressive library, a student center with adjacent student housing, a gymnasium, and a creative arts center. The university also achieved the important landmark of full accreditation at both the graduate and undergraduate levels.

Robert J. Kegerreis, President 1973-1985

Robert Kegerreis became Wright State University's second president in 1973. He served the longest presidential term during the years that Wright State experienced the most change, overssing an explosive growth in curriculum -- the Schools of Medicine, Nursing, and Professional Psychology, and the Biomedical Sciences Ph.D. program all began during his term, and eight major structures were built. He also worked to strengthen relations between Wright State and the communities it served.

Paige E. Mulhollan, President 1985-1994

Paige E. Mulhollan was named WSU's third president in 1985. Best known for shaping Wright State's mission as a metropolitan university dedicated to service and leadership to the Dayton metropolitan area, Mulhollan was also responsible for a significant expansion of facilities and programs that enhance student and academic life, including the building of the Nutter Center, Russ Engineering Center, and the Student Union.

Harley E. Flack, President 1994-1998

The inauguration of Harley E. Flack as WSU's fourth president took place on October 7, 1994, when he became the first African American president of a major metropolitan university in Ohio. During his tenure, Flack stressed collaboration and community building, both within and outside the university's walls.

Kim Goldenberg, M.D., President 1998-2007

Dr. Goldenberg became president following the death of President Harley E. Flack in 1998. His years as President were highlighted by record enrollment rates as well as significant increases in research funding.

David Hopkins, President 2007-

Wright State's sixth and current president, David R. Hopkins, assumed the office on February 1, 2007. A central theme to his administration has been the creation of a culture for innovation throughout the university that is reflected through the development of several Centers of Excellence. Under his leadership, the university also achieved the highest levels of enrollment in its history.