|
|
 |
Research Guides by Subject
Evidence Based Health Resources
Point of Care Resources
Databases for original studies or systematic reviews
Electronic Texts for background information
Learning more about EBM
Point of Care Resources (back to top)
-
Clinical Evidence
Synopses of what is known and not
known about treatments for 228 conditions and the evidence that
supports those treatments. Available from the
BMJ Publishing Group.
-
FirstConsult
An evidence-based clinical information source for primary health care providers. It includes tools for differential diagnosis, evaluation and management of medical conditions, patient education and procedure skills review. FirstConsult's differential diagnosis and medical condition files can be accessed on handheld devices via PocketConsult, a separate download available within the database.
-
PIER (The Physicians’ Information and Education Resource)
From the American College of Physicians, PIER provides access to
evidence-based guidelines for improving the quality of patient care.
-
ACP Journal Club
Fulltext of this journal from its premier issue in 1991 to the present.
Published by The American College of Physicians - American Society
of Internal Medicine (ACP-ASIM.) Issues contain structured or "value
added" abstracts of original articles and reviews selected from
over 100 clinical medical journals.
- Clinical Guidelines
Databases for original studies or systematic reviews (back to top)
- Cochrane
Library
Provides access to the Database of
Systematic Reviews (full text) and the Cochrane Controlled
Trials Register, two excellent sources of evidence based
healthcare reviews.
- MEDLINE
Via OhioLINK. - PubMed
Medline
directly from the National Library of Medicine
- PubMed
Clinical Queries
Special section of PubMed that helps you do
a focused search for evidence-based articles on therapy,
diagnosis, etiology or prognosis questions.
-
Finding
the Evidence on PubMed
From Yale University, Harvey Cushing John Hay
Whitney Medical Library. Copy and paste EBM filters for PubMed.
Electronic Texts for background information (back to top)
-
AccessMedicine
Over 40 full text basic science and clinical medicine
textbooks including Harrison's Principles of Internal
Medicine, Goodman & Gilman's the Pharmacological Basis of
Therapeutics, and Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment.
Also includes clinical care guidelines, drug information,
Diagnosaursus for differential diagnosis, images, a study
and review guide for the USMLE and much more.
- AccessEmergency Medicine
Full text emergency medicine textbooks including Reichman's Emergency Medicine Procedures; Tintanelli's Emergency Medicine: A Comprehensive Study Guide; Emergency Ultrasound; Pediatric Emergency Medicine; Emergency Orthopedics; and Obstetric and Gynecologic Emergencies. Also includes procedure descriptions (with PDA downloads), procedure videos, drug information, images, and much more.
- AccessSurgery
Full text surgical textbooks including Schwartz's Principles of Surgery, Current Surgical Diagnosis and Treatment, Maingot's Abdominal Operations, and Zollinger's Atlas of Surgical Operations. Also includes procedure descriptions (with PDA downloads), procedure videos, board review test questions, drug information, a differential diagnosis tool (DDX), images, and much more.
- MDConsult
Online textbooks useful for answering background
questions; access to fulltext journal articles to answer
foreground questions; numerous clinical guidelines.
Learning more about EBM (back to top)
- Users' Guide
Interactive Learner
This resource is a web version of the
print American Medical Association's publication "Users guide to the
medical literature: a manual for evidence-based clinical practice. The book
is a new rendering of the original "Users guide..."series that
appeared in JAMA articles from 1993 to 2000. See User's
Guide to Evidence Based Practice to read these articles.
- Journal Article Series
- User's Guide to
Evidence Based Practice
Originally published in JAMA as
User's Guide to the Medical Literature; available in fulltext from
the Centre for Health Excellence at the University of Alberta,
Canada.
- How to Read a Paper - by Trish Greenhalgh; published in BMJ
- Selected Websites
(back to top)
|
|