Research Databases: Music


Show/
Hide
Database
A comprehensive encyclopedia of music, with over 29,000 articles on composers, instruments, performers, regions, countries and cities, styles, genres and terms. (more...)
Coverage: Ancient Greece to present
Indexes international music journals, covering both classical and popular music. (more...)
Coverage: 1976 to present
Comprehensive music bibliography featuring citations and abstracts of publications from over 150 countries in over 200 languages, covering traditional music, popular music, and classical music. (more...)
Coverage: 1967 to present
IPA Source is the web's largest library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. (more...)
Coverage: works in the public domain
Streaming audio of classical music from the earliest times to the present day. (more...)
Coverage: Medieval era to present
Listen to over 80,000 tracks from 5,500 CDs in the genres of classical music and opera, jazz, blues, world music, new age, and Chinese music. (more...)
Coverage: Updated monthly
Smithsonian Global Sound, produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. (more...)
Classical Music in Video will contain 1,000 hours of classical music performances and masterclasses captured on video-approximately 1,500 performances in all. (more...)
Contains 250 of the most important opera performances, captured on streaming video. Selections represent the worlds best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a works importance to the operatic canon. (more...)
IPM indexes individual pieces of music published in standard scholarly editions such as composers complete works, national collections, the Recent Researches series, and major anthologies. (more...)
Digitized, complete back files of core scholarly journals from most disciplines. (more...)
Coverage: 1800s to about 3-5 years back
Indexes 1,100 of the worlds leading arts and humanities journals; includes citation searching. (more...)
Coverage: 1975 to present

3640 Colonel Glenn Highway, Dayton, Ohio 45435. Phone: (937) 775-2525